Mormon History, 1849 July

[Utah War] The territories were governed by political appointees of the President, approved by the Senate. These included the governor, secretary, three judges of three districts who also comprised the supreme court, U.S. marshal and U.S. attorney. Because these positions were likely to be filled by outsiders, the decision was made to apply rather for statehood.

[source: Hale, Van, Mormon Miscellaneous, Utah War Chronology,]

No comments:

Post a Comment